U.S. Junior and U23 MTB World Championship Team Announced

USA Cycling has announced the junior and U23 cross-country racers that have been nominated to represent the United States at the 2008 UCI Mountain Bike World Championships in Val di Sole, Italy, June 17th–22nd.

In the U23 category, Sam Jurekovic received the only automatic nomination to the men’s team, thanks to his fourth-place Elite finish at the Fontana National. Colin Cares, Mitchell Peterson and Tim Allen received discretionary nominations. Jamie Dinkins posted the top U23 women’s performance at the Fontana National and received the only automatic nomination. Chloe Forsman received the sole discretionary nomination.

In the junior men’s division, Kerry Werner and John Bennett received automatic nominations, while Robbie Squire and Seamus Powell garnered discretionary selections. Jill Behlen won the Greenbrier Challenge in April to score an automatic nomination, and Deidre York took the victory at Santa Ynez to earn a spot on the junior women’s squad.

U.S. U23 and Junior Cross-Country Team Nominations:

U23 Men’s
Sam Jurekovic (Colorado Springs, CO)
Colin Cares (Boulder, CO)
Mitchell Peterson (Sandy, UT)
Tim Allen (Flagstaff, AZ)

U23 Women’s
Jamie Dinkins (Powell, TN)
Chloe Forsman (Boulder, CO)

Junior Men’s
Kerry Werner (Birdsboro, PA)
John Bennett (El Cerrito, CA)
Robbie Squire (Sandy, UT)
Seamus Powell (Round Top, NY)

Junior Women’s
Jill Behlen (Boulder, CO)
Deidre York (Indio, CA)

–Karl Rosengarth


Like what you see? Please support independent publishing by Subscribing To Dirt Rag Magazine today.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.