Stan’s NoTubes announces elite women’s race team for 2015

The Stan’s NoTubes Elite Women’s Team is heading into its fifth year and has announced its roster for 2015, including eight returning riders and two new signings.

“We will be participating in a variety of races across the country and the world, and we’ll be leading ladies’ riding clinics at many of the races which we attend.” said Sarah Kaufmann, one of the team’s managers.

New signings strengthen line-up

Photo courtesy of Sho-Air Cycling Group.
Photo courtesy of Sho-Air Cycling Group.

US Mountain Bike Marathon National Champion Rose Hughes Grant, above, is joining the Stan’s NoTubes Elite Women’s Team. The Kalispell, Montana resident and mother of a 20-month-old daughter was also sixth at the 2014 US Cross Country National Championships.

Photo by Jason Els
Photo by Jason Els

Under 23 development rider Emily Shields, above, of Advance, North Carolina, will also wear the colors of the Stan’s NoTubes Elite Women’s Team in 2015. Shields won the under-25 women’s category at the seven-day Trans-Sylvania Epic Mountain Bike Stage Race and finished fifth in the under-23 category at the US Cross Country National Championships.

“We’re thrilled to welcome Rose to the team and to have the opportunity to mentor Emily and see her develop into a top racer,” said Kaufmann.

Familiar faces

Returning team members include Vicki Barclay, Nina Baum, Mical Dyck, Shannon Gibson, Sue Haywood, Kaufmann, Kathy Sherwin and Jennifer Smith.

Photo by Kenny Wehn

Smith won the Firecracker 50 while Barclay is the reigning US Singlespeed National Champion. Haywood was the runner-up at the US Super D National Championships while Baum, riding with Sonya Looney, claimed victory in the Brazil Ride stage race. Smith and Baum placed second and third respectively at the Leadville 100.

Sarah Kaufmann and Jenny Smith are two of the returning riders for 2015. Photo by Kenny Wehn

Team members range in age from 21 to 48.

Under new management

While the Stan’s NoTubes Elite Women’s Team was founded by Shannon Gibson, it is under new management for 2015 by Femme First Racing, LLC, which is owned and managed by three members of the team: Baum, Smith and Kaufmann.

As in previous years, the Stan’s NoTubes Elite Women’s Team will compete primarily in elite mountain bike cross country, endurance and stage races, but its riders will also make appearances in select enduro mountain bike races. It will target races that promote and value women’s cycling.

The team will make its 2015 debut at the 24 Hours in the Old Pueblo. It will also be represented at Sea Otter, Whiskey 50, Trans-Sylvania Epic, Grand Junction Off Road, BC Bike Race, US Cross Country and Marathon Nationals, Go Pro Games, Beti Bike Bash, North American World Cups, Leadville, Park City Point 2 Point and Tour of the White Mountains.

2015 Stan’s NoTubes Elite Women’s Team Roster

  • Vicki Barclay – State College, Pennsylvania
  • Nina Baum – Albuquerque, New Mexico
  • Mical Dyck – Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
  • Shannon Gibson – Durango, Colorado
  • Rose Grant – Kalispell, Montana
  • Sue Haywood – Davis, West Virginia
  • Sarah Kaufmann – Salt Lake City, Utah
  • Kathy Sherwin – Heber City, Utah
  • Emily Shields – Advance, North Carolina
  • Jennifer Smith – Gunnison, Colorado


Like what you see? Please support independent publishing by Subscribing To Dirt Rag Magazine today.