Single Speed Cyclocross World Championships

On November 7-9th, 2008, Portland, OR hosted the second annual edition of SSCXWC—the “unofficial” Single Speed Cyclocross World Championships. Mix singlespeeds with cyclocross, and you’re guaranteed to see racers letting their freak flags fly. One can only imagine the surreal scene provided by costumed riders juxtaposed against a backdrop of an 8 foot tall, 12 foot wide foam bubble machine that spewed forth a wall of suds (thanks to the handiwork of the Yakima Bike Vigilantes).

mr. bubbles

But this was a race, not a Salvador Dalí dream sequence. According to the official report on there was some racing going on:

A muddy and unusual single speed ‘cross event found the newest World Champions Sunday. Canadian Drew MacKenzie won the second annual Single Speed Cyclocross World Championships (SSCXWC) in Portland, OR. MacKenzie bested some big names, like Ryan Trebon, Nat Ross, Steve Fassbinder and Adam Craig, more familiar to cycling headlines. Sue Butler took top honors in the women’s race, winning a come from behind battle.

For complete race results click here.

For your enjoyment, we offer the following photos, courtesy of the Yakima Bike Vigilantes.

windmill 1

windmill 2



Like what you see? Please support independent publishing by Subscribing To Dirt Rag Magazine today.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.