2009 USA Cycling Cyclocross National Champions Crowned

A  crowd of more than 5,000 spectators watched Tim Johnson (Middleton, Mass./Cannondale/Cyclossworld.com) outpace reigning national champion Ryan Trebon (Bend, Ore./Kona-FSA) to win the USA Cycling cyclocross National Championships elite men’s national title on December 13th in Bend, OR. The number one ranked cyclocross rider in the world Katie Compton (Colorado Springs, Colo./Planet Bike) scored her sixth consecutive cyclocross crown in the elite women’s race. The Elite races were the grand finale in four days of competition in Bend. The complete list of national champions is shown below.

2009 USA Cycling Cyclocross National Champions:

  • Elite Men: Tim Johnson (Beverly, Mass./Cannondale-cyclocross World)
  • Elite Women: Katie Compton (Colorado Springs, Colo./Planet Bike)
  • Collegiate Men Division I: Zach McDonald (Bainbridge Island, Wash./University of Washington-Seattle)
  • Collegiate Women Division I: Teal Stetson-Lee (Durango, Colo./Fort Lewis College)
  • Collegiate Men Division II: Ryan Leech (Savannah, Ga./Savannah College of Art and Design)
  • Collegiate Women Division II: Arielle Filiberti (Wooster, Mass./Dartmouth)
  • Men 10-12: Gage Hecht (Parker, Colo./ICCC)
  • Men 13-14: Ian Haupt (Whitefish Bay, Wisc./Planet Bike)
  • Men 15-16: Logan Owen (Bremberton, Wash./Redline Bicycles)
  • Junior 17-18 Men: Cody Kaiser (El Dorado Hills, Calif./Cal Giant)
  • U23 Men: Danny Summerhill (Englewood, Colo./Garmin-Felt)
  • Master Men 30-34: Grant Berry (Durango, Colo./Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory
  • Master Men 35-39: Jonathan Baker (Boulder, Colo./Vitamin Cottage)
  • Master Men 40-44: Peter Webber (Boulder, Colo.)
  • Master Men 45-49: Jonny Bold (Marston Mills, Mass./Corner Cycle)
  • Master Men 50-54: Kevin Hines (East Wareham, Mass./Corner Cycles)
  • Master Men 55-59: Paul Curley (Taunton, Mass./Gearworks-spinarts)
  • Master Men 60-64: Dan Norton (Ronald, Wash.)
  • Master Men 65-69: James Wagner (Auburn, Wash./Cycle Therapy 4 Corners)
  • Master Men 70-74: Joe Saling (Bridgewater, N.J./Somerset Van Dessel)
  • Master Men 75-79: Walt Axthelm (Durango, Colo./DCCX)
  • Women 10-12: Mina Anderburg (Louisville, Colo./Team Fuji)
  • Women 13-14: Tiziana Dehorney (Albuquerque, N.M./Active Knowledge)
  • Women 15-16: Sarah Huang (Kenosha, Wis./Hayes Disc Brakes)
  • Women 17-18: Coryn Rivera (Tustin, Calif./Proman Hit Squad)
  • Master Women 30-34: Barbara Howe (Berkeley, Calif./VanderKitten)
  • Master Women 35-39: Kerry Barnholt (Mountain View, Calif./Scott Ritchey)
  • Master Women 40-44: Gina Hall (Orinda, Calif.)
  • Master Women 45-49: Kris Walker (Pocatello, Idaho/Church of the Big Ring)
  • Master Women 50-54: Marilyn Ruseckas  (Warren, Vt./Seven Cycles)
  • Master Women 55-59: Diane Ostenso (Cottage Grove, Wis./Planet Bike)
  • Master Women 60-64: Martha Iverson (Durango, Colo./Durango Wheel Club)
  • Master Women 65+: Julie Lockhart (Dunstable, Mass./NEBC-CycleLoft-Devonshire)

For more information on Cyclocross Nationals, visit USA Cycling’s cyclocross home page. USA Cycling has complete Nationals results available at this link, and photo galleries from Nationals at this link.


Like what you see? Please support independent publishing by Subscribing To Dirt Rag Magazine today.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.