2009 Mountain Bike Hall of Fame Inductees

mtb hall of fameThe Mountain Bike Hall of Fame will welcome its 2009 inductees in a ceremony on Wednesday, September 23rd at 6:00 p.m. at the Sand’s Expo and Convention Center, Las Vegas, NV in conjunction with the annual Interbike expo. The class of 2009: Anne-Caroline Chausson, the Colorado Plateau Mountain Bike Association (COPMOBA) , Dave Garoutte and The Larkspur Canyon Gang.

Anne-Caroline Chausson, one of the greatest downhillers of all time, is also an Olympic BMX gold medalist, and has earned world titles in dual and four-cross. The trail advocacy group COPMOBA, a true pioneer in mountain bike trail development and advocacy, earned a place in the Mountain Bike Hall of Fame for its 20 years of innovation and accomplishments in advocacy. In 1978 Dave Garoutte opened DKG, a metal fabrication and machine shop, and the Marin County MTB pioneers quickly beat a path to Dave’s door, as DKG became know as the place for getting things made, and made right. The Larkspur Canyon Gang, a large, loose-knit group of friends who in 1968, while still in middle school, started pushing bikes up Eldridge Grade to race back down. These self-described adrenalin junkies, who became obsessed with riding down the slopes of Tam, have ridden themselves into the MTB Hall of Fame.

More information on the Mountain Bike Hall of Fame is at www.mtnbikehalloffame.com.


Like what you see? Please support independent publishing by Subscribing To Dirt Rag Magazine today.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.