13 individuals honored by 2012 NICA Awards

The National Interscholastic Cycling Association Awards were established in 2010 to honor student-athletes, coaches, volunteers and partners that have made outstanding contributions toward the development of high school cycling and the national high school mountain biking movement. This year, awards were awarded to 13 individuals in 10 different categories that were selected from a field of more than 222 nominees from NICA Leagues across the country.

The Student Athlete Leadership Award honors student-athletes who have demonstrated outstanding leadership, sportsmanship, academic performance and volunteerism in their team, school and community. The recipients are:

  • Josie Nordrum, Redwood High School, NorCal High School Cycling League
  • Zachary Tucker, Lyons High School, Colorado High School Cycling League

The Trek All-Star Student Athlete Award recognizes student-athletes for their outstanding competitive achievements and potential for future success in competitive cycling. The recipients are: 

  • Kate Courtney, Branson High School, NorCal High School Cycling League
  • Lucas Newcomb, Sir Francis Drake High School, NorCal High School Cycling League

The Jeep Extraordinary Courage Award recognizes student-athletes who have persevered through challenging circumstances and overcome adversity to develop and excel as a model student athlete. The recipients are:

  • DeShaun Smith, C.K. MCClatchy High School, NorCal High School Cycling League
  • Mark Doty, Oakley High School, Utah High School Cycling League

The SRAM Coach of the Year Award acknowledges a head coach whose qualities as a leader and motivator embodies NICA’s mission to provide student-athletes with the coaching and camaraderie to help them achieve both competitive and non-competitive goals in a safe and enjoyable manner. The recipients are: 

  • Whitney Pogue, Summit Academy High School, Utah High School Cycling League
  • Ken Mozek, San Ramon Valley High School, NorCal High School Cycling League

The Clif Bar and Company Volunteer Service Award honors an exceptional volunteer whose dedication of time, expertise and enthusiasm goes above and beyond to make a difference in the organization. The recipients is: 

  • Nick Gualtieri, St. Francis High School, SoCal High School Cycling League

The Quality Bicycle Products Community Impact Award honors an individual whose dedication to high school mountain biking has resulted in positive impacts on youth, the community and the organization. This individual is an outstanding representative of the organization internally and externally. The recipient is:

  • Ed Fischer, Camas Composite, Washington High School Cycling League

The Primal Wear Race Production Partner Award acknowledges an individual whose outstanding partnership role in race productions is key to the success of a leagues race event production. The recipient is:

  • Martha Flynn, Minnesota High School Cycling League

The Easton Foundations League Founders Award recognizes an individual’s commitment, enthusiasm, perseverance, and outstanding contributions in establishing a NICA High School Cycling League. The recipient is:

  • Lori Harward, Utah High School Cycling League

The NICA Legacy Award honors an individual for their tremendous philanthropic support of NICA and NICA Leagues. The recipient is:

  • Mike Sinyard, Specialized Bicycles

Support the winners at the NICA Awards Benefit Ride and Banquet! Both events will be on January 12, 2013, with the ride at Ft. Ord and the banquet at the Specialized world headquarters in Morgan Hill, California. Register today for either the ride and/or the banquet here. 


Like what you see? Please support independent publishing by Subscribing To Dirt Rag Magazine today.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.